Home Articles In A Pickle? Here’s ALTA’s Answers to Your Burning Pickleball Questions

In A Pickle? Here’s ALTA’s Answers to Your Burning Pickleball Questions

108
0
Palmetto Dunes pickleball court

July/August 2024

BY Jerry Niemeyer, Pickleball League Vice President

I’VE HEARD THE TERM “ATP.” WHAT DOES IT MEAN?
ATP means “around the post” of the net. The shot brings the player across the sideline where the player executes a shot that goes around the net post and into the opponent’s side of the court.

WHEN CAN YOU BE IN THE “KITCHEN”?
It may be easier to say when you cannot be in the kitchen. You cannot be in the kitchen to volley. You can only be in the kitchen to strike the ball once it has bounced in the kitchen. While the ball is in play, you may not be in the kitchen or on the kitchen lines unless, of course, the ball has bounced in the kitchen.

IN A RECENT MATCH, MY OPPONENT’S HAT BLEW OFF AND FELL INTO THE KITCHEN. IS THERE A RULE REGARDING THAT?
Yes, if anything a player is wearing or carrying drops into the kitchen a fault may be called. If you are in a friendly match, the rule may not be invoked. However, during league play or in a tournament, a fault will likely be called.

IS THE SERVING TEAM ALLOWED TO VOLLEY THE RETURN OF SERVE?
No, the serving team must allow the return of serve to bounce before returning the ball.

Previous articleProudly Saluting and Celebrating the Inspiring Life of a Longtime ALTA Member
Next articleSafeguard Your Eyesight